Little Shop of Horrors cast to perform at Blue Star Program on May 24

Brandon Morrison

On May 3, representatives from the Blue Star Program of Starlight Theater visited the SM North theater department to announce that its spring production of Little Shop of Horrors had received seven nominations for various Blue Star awards.

Audrey, Senior Elizabeth Nickolet, sings 'Somwhere That's Green'

These nominations included:

Outstanding Overall Production,

Skip Snip, senior Tucker Love (right) sings with Seymour, Jafferis (left) in 'The Meek Shall Inherit'

Outstanding Actor In A Lead Role – senior Dakota Jafferis as Seymour Krelborn

Outstanding Actor in a Featured Role – senior Ben Johnson as Orin Scrivello

Orin, senior Ben Johnson (left), talks about his 'Special Gas Mask' to Seymour, senior Dakota Jafferis (right) in 'It's Just The Gas"

Outstanding Contribution Award – senior Cedwan Hooks for his puppet choreography

Technical Achievement Award – Cedwan Hooks for puppet design and creation

Rising Star Male – senior Dakota Jafferis

Mr. Mushnik, senior Mike Mahr (right), sings with Seymour, Jafferis (left) in 'He'll Think About It'

Rising Star Female – senior Elizabeth Nickolett

“It’s a nice recognition and reward for all of the hard work and emotion we put into the show,” Nickolett, who played Audrey, the show’s female lead, said. “We all worked really hard. Whether or not we win anything, it is still an honor to have been nominated for so many things which encompass the different aspects of theater.”

(from left) Ronette, senior Kathryn Zoschke, Chiffon, senior Hana Jafaar and Crystal, Junior Jenny Warren

Although their rehearsals and performances are long over, the cast of Little Shop have reconvened to begin rehearsing the song “Get It” to perform it at the Blue Star Awards Ceremony on May 24, at Starlight Theater. The ceremony features performances from other schools and students in the metro area who received nominations and is open to the public. Admission is free,with a parking cost of $5.